Who Will Win PFA Player of the Year Award?

By on March 9, 2017 - 186 views

Chelsea’s N’Golo Kanté has been made the odds-on favourite by the bookmakers to win the 2016-17 PFA Player of the Year award.

CSAR believe the French international was harshly overlooked last season despite being one of the nominees for the award that went to then-Leicester City teammate Riyad Mahrez.

Since joining the Blues from the Premier League champions in the summer, Kanté has been immense in the middle of Antonio Conte’s successful 3-4-3 formation.

Chelsea currently sit 10 points clear at the top of the table and look certain to regain the title that they last won in 2015.

The bookmakers have these four players as contenders to N’Golo Kanté for this season’s PFA Player of the Season award:

Eden Hazard

The Chelsea forward has been back to his best at times this season, devastating a number of defences.  Predominately playing out on the left wing, the Belgian superstar also dips into the middle of midfield to cause havoc.

Hazard has scored a number of stunning goals this season, including his solo effort versus Arsenal recently.  He opened the scoring on Monday night in the 2-1 victory at West Ham as the Blues produced a stunning counter-attack.

Harry Kane

The England international has proven that he is not a one-hit wonder as Harry Kane is in contention for the Golden Boot award again this season.  However, Tottenham Hotspur have drawn too many games to put them out of contention for winning the Premier League, something that may harm the England international’s chances of winning this award.

With Vincent Janssen looking like a flop at White Hart Lane, Kane is the only striker Mauricio Pochettino really has to call upon.  Fortunately for the Spurs boss he is delivering, but he’ll need a few more hat-tricks before the season is out to make himself a strong candidate for this award.

Diego Costa

The Chelsea striker had a stunning time in the early days of Conte’s 3-4-3 formation but his productivity and goals have dried up a little since then.  And being the front of an attack that has Eden Hazard, Cesc Fàbregas and Pedro creating opportunities for him, Costa would need to do something more if he wants to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

Conte appears to have calmed the striker down as his yellow cards have been limited since picking up four in his opening four matches before the club switched to a very successful formation that has seen them run away with the lead at the top of the Premier League table.

Zlatan Ibrahimović

Where would Manchester United be without their charismatic striker this season?  Zlatan Ibrahimović has proven to be the bargain of the season following his free transfer move to Old Trafford from Paris Saint-Germain and is the sole reason they are competing for a top four spot right now.

Ibrahimović continues to produce the goals whilst his teammates have struggled in front of goal.  A player who continues to deliver on the big stage, having scored in both the FA Community Shield and EFL Cup final, United’s lack of a title challenge will surely be the Swede’s big undoing in his PFA Player of the Year bid.

The following two tabs change content below.

James Crawford

Promoted to editor in 2016, James has met famous footballing faces from Robbie Savage to John Bones. Very passionate football fan and writer and has a degree in journalism,

Latest posts by James Crawford (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App